Backup is like a mirror of your computer files. You select the folders you want to back up and we keep an exact copy of those on the cloud backup server. If you add, edit or delete a file on your computer, we do the same on the cloud backup server, making sure your files are always up to date. You can restore (download) your backed up files securely to any computer.

Briefcase is an online drive. Think of it as a USB memory stick that you can’t lose or damage, where you can store files and then edit them from another device. Your Briefcase files are also stored locally, so you can access them without Internet access, or you can choose to store them online only to free up disk space. Briefcase also enables you to share files with friends and colleagues and back up photos and videos from your phone or tablet.                                                                                

With both Backup and Briefcase, you can access your files from any web browser or using our apps for Android, iOS or Windows.

You can buy either product separately or buy them together as Pro Suite.

The backup desktop software will back up any supported file type from the computer user account where you installed the backup software. It doesn’t matter how large your computer’s hard drive is, or how many files there are.

It does not back up files from other user accounts on the same computer for privacy reasons. For example, if you own a computer and your friend has a separate login, their files would not be backed up on your backup account by default. Installing the backup software on a second user account would be treated as a second computer by the backup system.

The backup will backup all media files and documents, as well as most application file formats. The cloud backup does not back up system files, temporary files, programs or operating systems.

Examples of files backed up include: documents, spreadsheets, database archives, photos, videos, music, PDFs, zip files, presentations, and websites.

Examples of file types not backed up include: browser cookies, .exe, .iso, and .log.

You can install the backup software onto any computer and securely restore at any time. This can be to the same PC or Mac where the backup originated or a different computer. You can restore an individual file or a whole folder structure.

You can also download single files or folders to any computer at any time from your personal web portal.

Deleted files can be recovered for up to 30 days before being permanently deleted from the Cloud backup

If you have backed up your computer and then accidentally deleted a file, from the Restore tab in your Cloud backup desktop software or from the device view in your web portal, you can select “view deleted files” to restore the file back to your device.

Yes,you will be able to upgrade at any time via your client area.